Mayor & Council

Seaside Heights Mayor & Council

William Akers
Victoria Graichen
Arline Ottoson
Agnes Polhemus
Harry Smith
Richard Tompkins
Anthony Vaz

The Borough of Seaside Heights, New Jersey governing body consists of a Mayor and six Council Members elected at large. Members of the Council are elected for three year terms with two Council Members being elected each year while the Mayor is elected every four years.

The borough form of government, which dates back to 1878, is the single most popular form of local government in New Jersey. The Mayor retains all general law authority, presides over council meetings, and can vote in case of a tie. With the advice and consent of the council, Mayor Akers appoints all subordinate officers of the Municipality. The Council is the legislative body of the Borough and is responsible for formulating all local ordinances.