Requirements for Marriage License
- Make appointment with Municipal Clerk well in advance of the wedding. The license fee is $28.00 and it is preferred that payment be made at the time of application.
- Both bride and groom must appear at appointed time, along with a witness who is at least 18 years of age. There is a waiting period of 72 hours from time of application until time license is issued.
- Bride must reside in Seaside Heights and show proof such as a driver’s license to this effect. Both the bride and groom are asked to bring a copy of their birth certificate for proof of age and parentage.
- Pre-marital blood tests are no longer required. If either the bride or groom have been divorced, please bring a copy of your divorce papers.
- Consent of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18.
- Applicants must make their own arrangements as to who will perform the marriage ceremony.
- Once the license is issued, it is good for 30 days from date of issuance.
- For further information, please call 793-9126.
Where should you apply for a marriage license?
If the bride is a resident of New Jersey, the marriage license must be obtained from the Registrar of Vital Statistics in the municipality where she lives.
If she is a non-resident of New Jersey and the groom is a resident of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar in the municipality in which the groom resides. (For marriage license purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are stationed.) A license issued under either of the preceeding circumstances is good for use anywhere in New Jersey.
If both bride and groom are non-residents of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar of the municipality where the marriage is to be performed and is only good for use in that municipality.
A license may never be used outside of New Jersey and a license issued in another state may never be used in New Jersey.
Be sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will be in the office. The license fee is $28.00.
Who can perform a marriage ceremony?
According to state law, judges of a Federal District Court, United States magistrates, judges of a Municipal Court, judges of the Superior Court, judges of a Tax Court, retired judges of the Superior Court or Tax Court, or judge of the Superior Court or Tax Court who has resigned in good standing, and any mayor/deputy mayor or chairman of any Township committee, village president of New Jersey, County Clerks, and every minister of every religion may solemnize a marriage.
When should you apply for a marriage license?
A local Registrar will not issue a marriage license sooner than 72 hours after the application for a marriage license has been made, unless ordered to do so via an appropriate court order.
If the marriage is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the application should be made no later than the preceeding Tuesday. If the application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, the 72 hours will end on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar will probably not be available on those days or any public holiday.
If both the bride and groom are unavailable to complete the application at the same time, either applicant may complete his/her part of the application and start the waiting period. The other applicant must return with the same witness (who must be at least 18 years old) to complete his/her part of the application. The application must be completed by both parties before the license will be issued. Once the marriage license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance.
A couple wishing to have both religions and civil ceremonies may be issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis of a single application. However, a couple wishing to have two religious ceremonies, and wanting to have a public record of each, may not have two licenses issued at the same time. They must apply for and use the first license. They must then return to the Registrar with the signed original certificate of the marriage and a witness to apply for a remarriage license.
What should you bring with you when you apply?
A birth certificate may be requested for proof of age and parentage.
If one or both of the applicants are divorced, you should bring a copy of the final decree or decrees for examination by the Registrar or a statement by the judge as to when the final decree was signed (not the date of the final hearing). Both the bride and groom will provide their Social Security numbers (Married Persons Title 37:117).
Consent of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18 years of age. Both parental consents and judicial approval of such consents are necessary if the applicant is younger than 16. These consents should be on forms supplied by the Registrar.
Where should the marriage record be filed?
The person performing a marriage ceremony must file the license and marriage certificate with the Registrar of the municipality in which the marriage is performed. Since failure to record a marriage may cause considerable inconvenience at a later date when proof of marriage is needed, you should make sure that this has been done.
Certified copies of the marriage event may be obtained from the local Registrar in the municipality where the ceremony occurred or from the Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics.